Gene Carbaugh Elected Chair of DOE Laboratory Accreditation Oversight Board

December 4, 2013

NV5/Dade Moeller* Senior Health Physicist [radiation safety scientist] Eugene (Gene) H. Carbaugh has been elected to a three-year term as Chairman of the U.S. Department of Energy Laboratory Accreditation Program (DOELAP) Radiobioassay Oversight Board. Carbaugh has served as a member of the Oversight Board for 12 years. Radiobioassay is the measurement of radioactivity in the human body.

DOELAP administers accreditation of DOE sites for direct radiobioassay measurements, such as whole body counts and lung counts, and indirect measurements, such as radiochemical analysis of urine and fecal samples. DOELAP accreditation is federally required for sites that routinely monitor workers for intakes of radioactivity.

Carbaugh is a certified health physicist specializing in applied internal dosimetry and is one of the most senior internal dosimetrists in the U.S. Department of Energy complex. He currently serves as technical lead of the internal dosimetry program at the Department’s Hanford nuclear site, dealing with workers exposed or potentially exposed to intakes of radioactivity and liaising with the Hanford dosimetry and occupational medicine staffs. In addition to his role on the DOELAP Oversight Board, Carbaugh serves on American National Standards Institute (ANSI) committees for tritium and plutonium internal dosimetry, chairs a committee developing a standard for management of wounds contaminated with radioactive material, and has served on scientific committees for the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP).

The DOELAP Radiobioassay Oversight Board is a five-member panel that reviews recommendations and data supporting site accreditations, advises the DOELAP Administrator on matters related to DOELAP, and performs a triennial assessment of the DOELAP laboratory in Idaho Falls, Idaho, that prepares the accreditation samples.

*Dade Moeller joined NV5 in May 2016.